Skip to content

A virtual jazz fest

jazz
Musicians playing in jazz band on stage. Photo: Metro Creative Connection
Until Nov. 15, 2020, jazz festivals across the country present top jazz talent performing online. From coast to coast, over a dozen festivals have collaborated for the Canadian Online Jazz Festival, highlighting the strength of musicians from each jazz festival market in Canada. With two presentations each evening, Canadian Online Jazz Festival will exhibit the full breadth and depth of Canada’s unique jazz tapestry.
“During times when we aren’t able to gather to enjoy live music, it’s good to know there are still options to present jazz music to Canadians,” said Calgary JazzYYC Artistic Director and organizer of CoJazz Kodi Hutchinson.
CoJazz welcomes SaskTel Saskatchewan Jazz Festival to the lineup on Sunday November 15.

Remaining events include:

TD Victoria International JazzFest
jazzvictoria.ca
 
7 Bands
Pre-Recorded
 
Tuesday November 10
7:00 p.m. Victoria
8:00 p.m. MT

The Victoria Jazz Society will film 75 minutes of seven different bands, without an audience present. One segment of original music from each band will be edited together into an hour long montage featuring Vancouver Island musicians.
 

Jazz Sudbury Festival
jazzsudbury.com
 
Reg Schwager, Christian Overton and Kevin Turcotte
with the Borealis Jazz Quartet

Pre-Recorded
 
Wednesday November 11
7:00 p.m. Sudbury
4:00 p.m. PT
5:00 p.m. MT

TD Vancouver International Jazz Festival
coastaljazz.ca
 
Laila Biali Trio
Live from Frankie’s Jazz Club: A Streamed Concert
 
Wednesday November 11
7:00 p.m. Vancouver
8:00 p.m. MT

Winnipeg International Jazz Festival
jazzwinnipeg.com

  
Kelly Bado
 Pre-Recorded Live

Thursday November 12
7:00 p.m. Winnipeg
5:00 p.m. PT
6:00 p.m. MT

 

TD Niagara Jazz Festival
niagarajazzfestival.com
 
Best of our 2020 Season Livestreams
 
Friday November 13
7:00 p.m. Niagara
4:00 p.m. PT
5:00 p.m. MT

The TD Niagara Jazz Festival is dedicated to celebrating the art form of jazz and World music in beautiful wine country: The Niagara Region, Ontario.  The festival presents local, Canadian and International artists throughout the year at a series of events combining food, wine, culture and natural wonders.
 
For the 2020 festival (due to COVID 19), the festival presented their artists in over 50 live-streamed events from across Canada and beyond.  
 
The TD Niagara Jazz Festival's presentation for the Canadian Online Jazz Festival will feature a varied selection of these performances.  
 

JazzFest Regina
jazzregina.ca

 
Saskatchewan Suite
Pre-Recorded
 
Friday November 13
7:00 p.m. Regina
6:00 p.m. PT
7:00 p.m. MT

TD Toronto Jazz Festival
torontojazz.com
  
Clips from The TD Toronto Jazz Festival Summer Concert Series
 
Saturday November 14
7:00 p.m. Toronto
4:00 p.m. PT
5:00 p.m. MT

 

SaskTel Saskatchewan Jazz Festival
saskjazz.com
 
Jazz Ensemble: Young Lions of Saskatoon 
Pre-Recorded 
 
Sunday, November 15
1:00 p.m. Saskatoon
11:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. MT
 

 
 

TD Ottawa Jazz Festival
ottawajazzfestival.com
 
Miguel de Aramas Quartet
Pre-Recorded Live Concert
 
Sunday November 15
7:00 p.m. Ottawa
4:00 p.m. PT
5:00 p.m. MT

 In this production, presented by the TD Ottawa Jazz Festival, one of the great Cuban pianists and masters of Afro-jazz Miguel de Armas together with Marc Decho (bass), Michel Medrano Brindis (drums) and Diomer Gonzalez (congas) will perform a program that enhances the cultural appreciation for Cuban music. Based in Ottawa and performing together since 2013, the Quartet carries on the rich tradition of Cuban-Canadian musical collaboration.
 

TD Edmonton International Jazz Festival
edmontonjazz.com
  
Edmonton Jazz Collective
 Pre-Recorded Live

Sunday November 15
7:00 p.m. Edmonton
6:00 p.m. PT
8:00 p.m. CT





Comments